Hat’s are one of my favourite things to knit. I love the instant satisfaction of them, finishing up in only a few days.

I don’t think I’ll ever get enough of them, but here is the beginning of my collection…

blue beret update

My Big Blue Beret

I had mixed feeling for this hat when I finished it in February. I think mostly because I’m not the kind of person who can get away with a slouchy hat. I loved the colour though, so I wasn’t about to gve up on it.It was well received on craftster though, so I wrote a pattern(I’ll be moving the pattern over to the blog soon) for my fellow knitters.

I recently gave my blue beret a little surgery, shortening it, and adding a pompom. It’s not exactly a beret anymore, so I’ll rename it my Big Blue Ski Cap.😉

I have pictures of the original on my knitting flickr if you’d like to see the rest.

My Starlet

This hat is one of my knits I’m most proud of. It was inspired by a hat I saw Lindsay Lohan wearing. It took me a long time to figure out the stitch pattern, but I think that made it even more satisfying when I finished it. I will be writing a real pattern for this hat soon, since it became really popular. It was even featured on the Craftster knitting board!

bobblehead

IMG_1054

Marigold

I love this pattern and yarn, if only the hat fit…

I knit this out of left over yellow yarn from my fair isle mittens. Unfortunately I ran out, so I could only do two lace pattern repeats before decreasing. I’ve blocked the hell out of it, but the most length i can get has it resting just above my ears. It wasn’t meant to be I guess. the yarn will be balled up and go back in my stash for some future tiny project.

I’ll probably try the pattern again soon. Maybe for a summer hat.

Amelia Earhart Aviator Cap
This hat was the first project other than socks where I used short row shaping. The hat has a really interesting shape and construction. It’s knit sideways and shaped, then seamed in the back.

IMG_0281IMG_0282