MUST KNIT

17 thoughts on “MUST KNIT”

  1. I loooove those pieces! Especially the Anthropology items (love that store, wish it wasn’t so pricey). Are you going to share the patterns if you do them? I would love them! I’d pay too 🙂

    I was thinking King, Extra for the brown sweater would be nice, but it is 100% Merino:

    http://www.needfulyarnsinc.com/yarns.php

    The gold sweater looks like a butterfly stitch. The suggestion you got already looks right on too. You can see the butterfly stitch on this skirt:

    http://www.diynetwork.com/diy/na_knitting/article/0,2025,DIY_14141_4978083,00.html

    I want to be as adventurous as you with knitting my own patterns!
    Jill

  2. I’m a sucker for embroidery, too- I’ve embroidered on mittens before, it’s easier than you think, as long as you use embroidery wool and not normal yarn. And I love to lurk on Phildar and Anthropologie for inspiration, too- they have such gorgeous knits! I wonder who designs for them…..

  3. Wow! I love those Phidar sweaters, the patterns are intriquing! I couldn’t find them on the website? Which catalogue are they from?

  4. Sorry I can’t help you with that. I just saw the pictures on Craftster and I’m gonna be winging them both! I think the brown one is from 05/06 and the gold one, I have no idea.

  5. You’ve got some good taste in clothing! I love those sweaters, and Anthropologie is my drool-factory.
    Sorry, I’ve no suggestions for yarn. I play mostly with stuff that’s DK or smaller. I know I would not suggest Lamb’s Pride (when I made a sweater from it, it scratched me far too much). The colours are beautiful, though!

  6. just found your blog and thought i would comment (although this post is kinda old…)

    the anthropologie sweater i think is just two different needle sizes… alternated row by row)
    and as far as the phildar sweaters go… i have the brown one on the needles (and have since about october 2005). beautiful but slow going and kind of boring. should be easy to fake. i know that it was over on skinnyrabbit as well, fyi.

  7. Hi-

    I’ve made the scoop neck Phildar and it was a fun knit- I used Butterfly cotton and it is gorgeous- One warning though-it looks better on someone with curves. I have a boyish build with broad shoulders and it looked boxy and unflattering. I gave it to a curvier friend and it is stunning on her..

  8. I’m also quite thin with broad shoulders, so I’ll have to take that into consideration when I make this. Thank you for your advice Pascale =)

  9. lovely pieces. I’ve never heard of anyone buying a sweater to unravel it and knit something else! what an idea! does not the yarn tend to come into pieces where you’ve sewn the pieces together?

  10. Okay, it’s been a long time you didn’t post but I hope you’ll read my comment! I’m dying for that sweater, I want to knit it! Did you finally knit it? If so, do you have the pattern? Thansk a lot!

Leave a Reply

