Been awhile, hasn’t it?

I’ve been so busy with school in the last few months, I haven’t had time to blog (and barely time to knit!). Still read my blogroll daily, so I’m caught up, but I hope you haven’t forgotten me!

When I have knit recently, I’ve had colour(work) on the brain.

img 113These herringbone gloves are from a free Japanese pattern here. I do not read Japanese, so I’m knitting them with the help of bablefish translator and nightly prayers. The pattern includes really great charts though, so it isn’t so bad. The first one is going well so far, I’ve finished most of the fingers now. I only hope I can remember everything by the time I get to the second.

img 116Winter doesn’t have much longer to go(hopefully), so I’ll pack them away once I’m done for next fall. I’m using Regia Solid 4-ply in dark brown and white, which I got on sale on a trip to London this Christmas (I have a few London digital photos here, but unfortunately I lost the bulk of my pictures because my film got stuck in the camera😦. ) The fit isn’t that great (I have very small wrists), but they’re super cute, so who cares?

chullo
Next up, Swell from Knitty! This was a request from a cold-headed individual who had no idea what he wanted in a hat, so I searched around and settled on the chullo style, since I’ve always been attracted to it but I can’t really get away with the style myself. I styled it after this hat, which is also knit from a free pattern, but I found Swell to be better written. The yarn is Paton’s SWS (solids) and the needles are size 7. The only mod other than the stripes, was to crochet around the edges. It curled like crazy before that.

gryffindor!
This pattern I think needs no introduction, since it’s been knit by every Harry Potter fan/knitter on the Internet. It’s the Prisoner of Azkaban scarf from atypically.knit. I actually knit this several years ago, before my days with a blog and a camera. It was one of my first projects and I’m still really proud of it. Recently I broke out the sweater shaver and went to town on it, and it looks like new again. No mods on it that I can remember, I wasn’t too brave at the beginning. The yarn is classic merino, and it’s been awhile, but I think the needles were 8s.

That’s all there is to report on. I’m just desperately waiting for Spring because I have some cute warm-weather knits planned and I’d freeze in them on -10 degree days like today.